The Malaysian Industry-Government Group for High Technology (MIGHT) was established on 22 February 1993 as the technology think-tank under the purview of the Prime Minister’s Department. It is governed by a Board of Directors, helmed through the joint-chairmanship of prominent private sector personality and the Science Advisor to the Prime Minister. MIGHT emphasis on market intelligence initiatives using the foresight practices and methodology to identify technology and business opportunities. MIGHT is built on the strength of public-private partnership with members representing both local and international organisations.


To serve the nation in advancing competency in high technology through partnership towards sustainable development.


The road for Malaysia to achieve the status of a fully developed nation will not always be smooth and easy. There are many challenges that are facing us in order to achieve our goal. Even though we are living in an age of great technological innovation, higher income and increased opportunity, we are still at the mercy of often unpredictable global economic factors over which we have no control. The current volatile economic situation being faced by us in Malaysia and the rest of the whole world is a case in point.

Dato’ Sri Mohd Najib Tun Abdul Razak
Prime Minister of Malaysia


“We need a real focus on research and development and on better processes in industry. We need to focus not just on innovation, but on commercialising innovation. And we need a focus on being at the forefront of using – and inventing – new technology, so that we gain and maintain a long term competitive edge”.

Y.B Dato’ Sri Hajah Nancy Shukri
Minister in the Prime Minister's Department


Prof. Tan Sri Zakri Abdul Hamid

Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of Malaysia

Tan Sri Dr. Ir. Ahmad Tajuddin Ali, FASc

Joint-Chairman, MIGHT

Datuk Zainal Abidin

Prime Minister's Department

Datuk Seri Ir. Azman Mohd

Tenaga Nasional Berhad (TNB)

Ir. Mohamed Firouz Asnan

Petroliam Nasional Berhad (PETRONAS)

Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Mohd Bakke Salleh

Sime Darby Berhad

Dato’ Azhar Abdul Manaf

Majlis Amanah Rakyat (MARA)

Dato’ Seri Ir. Dr. Zaini Ujang

Kementerian Tenaga, Teknologi Hijau dan Air Malaysia (KeTTHA)

Datuk Kua Abun

Kementerian Sains, Teknologi dan Inovasi (MOSTI)

Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Ahmad Ramli Mohd Nor

Boustead Heavy Industries Corporation Berhad

Datin K. Talagavathi

Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI)

Datuk Matthew Tee

BinaPuri Holdings Berhad

Datuk Khalilur Rahman Ebrahim

System Consultancy Services Sdn Bhd

Dato’ P’ng Soo Hong

First Solar Malaysia Sdn Bhd

Saji Raghavan

Rolls Royce Malaysia Sdn Bhd

Khairil Adri

DreamEDGE Sdn Bhd

Datuk Dr. Mohd Yusoff Sulaiman

Malaysian Industry- Government Group for High Technology